New year, fresh start

5 Jan

I’m so happy 2011 is finally here.  I did mention that 2010 sucked, right?  Yeah, I think I did.  And it continued sucking to the very end.  Seriously, it went out kicking and screaming.  And even though I’m starting 2011 with a cold (thanks, Foster) and I’m not a millionaire (boo to the Texas lottery), it’s still better than 2010.  I’ve even got some New Year’s resolutions that I think aren’t totally setting myself up for failure.

1) Get organized.  Fine, I might be setting myself up for failure with this one.  I’m so not organized.  I’m messy.  Always have been, always will be.  But I’m trying.  I bought these fabulous storage boxes that slide under my bed, which is where most of my shoes are currently living.  There’s space in the closet for the two pairs I wear most often, but the rest will stay tucked away, out of reach of the dog and cat hair and dust that insists on accumulating on everything in our house.  I bought one for my purses, too, but I’m yet to determine if there room under the bed for it.  I’ve even organized the bathroom, buying nifty red cubes from Ikea to fit into the wire shelf I already had, and a wicker basket that will eventually live on the vanity, holding toothpaste, hair products, moisturizer, etc.  It’s slow going, but I’m getting there.

2) Oh, number two.  This is the tricky one.  Considering the unbelievable amount of issues I had in 2010 with people who have different beliefs than me, I decided it’s time to nip that issue in the bud.  But I’m still not sure of what path I’m going to take.

The back story… My oldest friend became a born-again, Evangelical Christian in 2010 after a major break-up.  The complete 180 she did threw me, and I didn’t know what to do.  So, I did nothing.  She told me this was unacceptable.  (I thought it was better than saying, “Hey, I think you’ve lost your marbles.  You’re just behind Tom Cruise on the path to Crazy Town.”  She disagreed.)  And then she dumped me, letting me know that it was for my own good, because “the enemy” was working on me and she wanted G_d to be able to step in, allowing me to accept Jesus.  Not gonna happen, but I digress.  The other major thing is the disagreement I’m in with a family member that stems from me A) inviting her to the Gay Pride Parade, which I didn’t realize was offensive, and B) telling her she should educate herself on Islam before declaring all 1.5 billion Muslims to be anti-American terrorists.  This led to her saying I refuse to “let anyone believe their own way”.  Yes, I’m so repressive.

Anyways, the point is, these things have caused so much stress in my life.  More than I’m okay with.  (And do you know what stress allegedly causes?  Weight gain.  And in my case, copious consumption of chocolates and fried foods.)  I need to figure out how to deal with it.  My choices are A) agree to disagree with people, and move on, or B) come to terms with the fact that I’m a big ol’ hypocrite who isn’t going to tolerate anyone’s intolerance.

You don’t have to be Einstein to take a guess that I’m likely end up going with Option B.

Leave a Reply

